Welcome To Heavy Planet!

If you are looking for new Stoner Rock, Doom, Heavy Psych or Sludge Metal bands, then you have come to the right place. Heavy Planet has been providing free promotion to independent and unsigned bands since 2008. Find your next favorite band at Heavy Planet. Thanks for stopping by!

Friday, June 13, 2008

John Wilkes Booth- "Sic Semper Tyrannis" To Be Released June 17, 2008

John Wilkes Booth has just completed their first full length release "Sic Semper Tyrannis". Booth fans, whose numbers are ever increasing, have eagerly been awaiting the fulfillment of promises for new tracks from the latest recording sessions. They will not be disappointed. Since the formation of the band in 2005, the band has consistently recorded and played live shows while continually escalating their fan base.

With a sound "that draws largely from punk and stoner rock with just a small smattering of metal" this eclectic quartet deems their brand of sinewy rhythms and bong fueled jams "Dirt Rock." In 2006, John Wilkes Booth released a self titled EP. The tracks "The Inner Workings" & "Only the Facts" were featured on the Compilation "Fumes from a Dead Scene" in 2007. Both received praises from fans as well as critics.

John Wilkes Booth abides by a strict "no-pay-to-play" policy, refusing to financially compensate venues in order to be added to the bill. The band’s popularity has featured the foursome playing shows along the east coast with such national acts as The Hidden Hand, La Otracina, Zoroaster, Puny Human, Solace, Wooly Mammoth, and Wrecketh. The NY Speed Coalition reviewed the Booth show at Bar 131 and stated, "The dirt rock assassins played an absolutely flawless set of bone shattering, ground shaking hard rock."

In May of 2008, Aural Fix, a Long Island magazine covering the local music scene, featured the band on the front cover. In 2007, John Wilkes Booth was chosen as a featured band on Fatcat Radio as well as selected as band of the week for Joe's Podhole. In June of that year, they were voted by listeners as band of the month on local radio station, Radiox. Podcasts and word of mouth have turned on audiences across America and the world.

Let Sic Semper Tyrannis assault your ears with the sound that so many fans have been waiting for. Let John Wilkes Booth assault your mind.

Release date June 17th

Track Listing:

01. Eye Rack
02. Breathing for No Reason
03. Smack For Larry
04. Hey Girl
05. The Inner Workings
06. Rats In My Room
07. Number 7
08. Only The Facts
09. The Jesus Song
10. Albino Mechanic
11. Intro (The Harshest Return)
12. Lonliness Is Pure*
13. Dense*
14. Haze*
15. Unknown Waiting*

* Original self titled 4 song E.P. re-mastered



No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share your comments...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...