Welcome To Heavy Planet!

If you are looking for new Stoner Rock, Doom, Heavy Psych or Sludge Metal bands, then you have come to the right place. Heavy Planet has been providing free promotion to independent and unsigned bands since 2008. Find your next favorite band at Heavy Planet. Thanks for stopping by!

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Album Of The Day-Acid Bath-"When The Kite String Pops" (1994)

The Album Of The Day is "When The Kite String Pops" by Acid Bath. An absolute classic to say the very least.


Acid Bath's debut is a malicious and sometimes downright disturbing album that defies easy categorization. They stitch together elements of death metal, '70s hard rock, thrashing hardcore punk and Black Sabbath-esque sludge into multi-sectioned songs that are both intricate and often surprisingly melodic. The production, especially the compressed drums and often-processed vocals, adds an industrial feel that increases the album's menacing vibe. "The Blue" kicks things off with a bluesy swamp metal riff before smoothly winding its way through a maze of tempo and riff change-ups, while the closer, "Cassie Eats Cockroaches," weaves spoken word samples and screaming vocals in and out of complex, Southern-flavored death metal riffing and precision double-bass drumming. Elsewhere, the songs range from full-on assaults ("Cheap Vodka" and "Toubabo Koomi") to creepy ballads, namely the goth-tinged "Scream of the Butterfly" and the largely acoustic "The Bones of Baby Dolls." Vocalist Dax Riggs handles this diverse material well, switching between distorted screams and a melodic croon reminiscent of Jim Morrison or Glen Danzig. His not-for-the-squeamish lyrics address such topics as drug abuse, rape, abortion, death, and self-loathing, but for the most part do so in an artful, vividly poetic manner. While it would have been stronger if a few of the weaker songs had been left off, When the Kite String Pops is still an excellent, diverse metal album that remains unlike much else, even years after it release. (William York, AMG)

Track Listing:

01. "The Blue" – 6:13
02. "Tranquilized" – 4:14
03. "Cheap Vodka" – 2:14
04. "Fingerpaintings of the Insane" – 6:04
05. "Jezebel" – 4:53
06. "Scream of the Butterfly" – 6:14
07. "Dr. Seuss is Dead" – 6:04
08. "Dope Fiend" – 5:19
09. "Toubabo Koomi" – 5:01
10. "God Machine" – 5:00
11. "The Morticians Flame" – 4:05
12. "What Color is Death" – 3:19
13. "The Bones of Baby Dolls" – 6:00
14. "Cassie Eats Cockroaches" – 4:22


Official Website

49 Used & New Available From $8.49

1 comment:

  1. One of the all time finest albums ever.

    Whenever I hear that feedback from the Blue start to kick in I get all goosbumbp.


Please share your comments...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...