Welcome To Heavy Planet!

If you are looking for new Stoner Rock, Doom, Heavy Psych or Sludge Metal bands, then you have come to the right place. Heavy Planet has been providing free promotion to independent and unsigned bands since 2008. Find your next favorite band at Heavy Planet. Thanks for stopping by!

Friday, August 22, 2008

Album Of The Day-Concept Of God-"Visions" (2007)

The Album Of The Day is "Visions" by Concept Of God.


Well, it is finally released. The long awaited, for doom metal fans, album by Concept of God; the band featuring Steve Mosley (Solitude Aeturnus) on guitar, Robert Lowe (Solitude Aeturnus) on vocals, James Martin (Solitude Aeturnus) on bass, and John “Wolf” Covington (ex-Solitude Aeturnus, HYD) on drums.

Having composed some really exciting doom metal songs, Mr. Mosley basically gathers all the guys of Solitude Aeturnus except Mr. John Perez – the SA main man, plus an old good friend John “Wolf” Covington. John performed in the classic Solitude Aeturnus line-up who has recently returned to music under Concept of God and HYD (a fantastic re-formed tech-power metal band that has released the great ’Sanctuary Lost’ demo back in 1988 and now prepares some cool new stuff for us. He is also doing some cool stuff with Mr. Mosley under the power/prog band Omega Thesis). Well, the logical thing for someone that has read all of this is to expect a Solitude Aeturnus clone band or something; but fortunately, things in Concept of God’s music are just not like that.

Steve Mosley presents a bunch of interesting songs that will bring to your mind the latest two studio albums of Solitude Aeturnus is some points (’Adagio’ and ’Alone’), but he enforces the music with some more pure doom touches far away for the epic doom background of Solitude Aeturnus. He is even attaching some atmospheric references that make the music sound even more foggy and dark. He grabs some early Black Sabbath influences adding a little of the magic that can be found on the first two albums of the mighty Rainbow, especially when their music becomes darker. Mentioning Rainbow, there is also a cover of the classic ‘Man on the Silver Mountain’ from their debut. All those musical references and elements are covered under a doom metal veil so fucking heavy that it would make you want to turn the volume even louder. Robert’s vocals also sound different from Solitude Aeturnus and Candlemass stuff. He sings more deeply and darker, adding his special trademark to the songs.

So to sum things up, we got a really good doom metal record with lots of pure doom metal parts, atmospheric musical touches, and influences from those ‘70s monsters that brought metal to our ears ages before. No hippie stuff in here - do not panic, just the mighty Sabbath and Rainbow under Mr. Mosley’s musical background, which is dark, doomy, and heavy. I love this album. (Chris Papadakis, Doom-Metal.com)

Track Listing:

01. Past Perfect
02. Visions (Nightmares)
03. Soul Embrace
04. Hearing Voices
05. Falling Down
06. Traces
07. Fires of Life
08. Unspoken
09. Man on the Silver Mountain (Rainbow cover)




1 comment:

Please share your comments...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...