Welcome To Heavy Planet!

If you are looking for new Stoner Rock, Doom, Heavy Psych or Sludge Metal bands, then you have come to the right place. Heavy Planet has been providing free promotion to independent and unsigned bands since 2008. Find your next favorite band at Heavy Planet. Thanks for stopping by!

Sunday, June 1, 2008

Album Of The Day-Orquesta del Desierto-"Dos" (2004)

I have a terrible cold and needed something a little more cheerful to listen to today and I couldn't think of anything better than a little sun-drenched, Latin-tinged Desert Rock via Orquesta del Desierto. With that being said, I am making their 2004 album "Dos" the Album Of The Day.


With a lineage that includes such doom-filled heavy hitters as Scream, Wool, Goatsnake, and the Desert Sessions, the uplifting, mellow collection of summer psych pop on Dandy Brown's second Orquesta del Desierto outing is somewhat unexpected. There does seem to be a commonality in texture and production between Dos and albums from quintessential Palm Desert bands like Kyuss and Queens of the Stone Age. And, even if they don't fall under the rubric of heavy stoner rock, Brown's outfit certainly sounds pretty baked. But OdD combines '60s psychedelia, Creedence, the Meat Puppets, and Latin-tinged acoustic pop in their vision of sun-drenched desert rock. Listeners are unlikely to find a song as propulsive and overpoweringly happy as the decidedly California-circa-1968, Wall of Sound number "Summer" — that is unless it's on a Jayhawks record. "Rope" sounds like "Black Hole Sun"-era Soundgarden had they grown up happy Deadheads. And "Someday" is a sprawling psychedelic number that could easily fit onto the Meat Puppets' Up on the Sun. Dos turns out to be a perfect and idiosyncratic record that beautifully captures a facet of Southern California and defines a new type of music in the process. The more you listen to it, the more the Palm Desert connection makes sense. Dos is like the acoustic numbers on Led Zeppelin III — hardly heavy, but still in the same spirit — making Orquesta del Desierto the Zeppelin III of the land of scorched earth and sand. (Charles Spano, AMG)

Track Listing:

01. Life Without Color
02. Summer
03. Rope
04. Quick to Disperse
05. Reaching Out
06. Over Here
07. Someday
08. What in the World
09. Above the Big Wide
10. Sleeping the Dream


Official Website (outdated)

Buy From Amazon.com

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share your comments...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...