Welcome To Heavy Planet!

If you are looking for new Stoner Rock, Doom, Heavy Psych or Sludge Metal bands, then you have come to the right place. Heavy Planet has been providing free promotion to independent and unsigned bands since 2008. Find your next favorite band at Heavy Planet. Thanks for stopping by!

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Album Of The Day-Litmus-"Planetfall" (2007)

The Album Of The Day is "Plantfall" by Litmus.

"Litmus, renegade agents of bludgeoning space rock, charging down from the giant behemoth of ugly rock n' roll gone warped & insane with too much Kool-Aid & bad acid. 'Planetfall' bursts from the speakers as if erupting from a gigantic supernova, heavy space rock the likes of which all burned out cosmonauts have only been dreaming of in delirious acid-fried visions for decades. When Litmus roars through the speakers like a psychic storm you know they really DO mean business. For fans of Hawkwind, Deep Purple, Motorhead, Black Sabbath, Pink Floyd & Gong."


When progressive rock enthusiasts think of space rock, the first name that comes to mind is Pink Floyd. But for headbangers, the definitive space rock band has always been Hawkwind (who, unlike Pink Floyd, are quite relevant to heavy metal and hard rock). Hawkwind have epitomized a more metallic, hard rocking view of space rock, and on Planetfall, it is quite clear that Litmus identify with the metal/hard rock side of space rock that Hawkwind have been representing for many years. Hawkwind are a major influence on this 2007 release, which is not to say that this British band is a carbon copy of '70s-era Hawkwind — not at all. The influences on this 76-minute CD range from Hawkwind to Monster Magnet to punk to Pink Floyd (it is possible to be influenced by Pink Floyd's melodic sense even if a band rocks considerably harder). Planetfall is certainly mindful of the trip-out music of the '60s and '70s, but there is enough of an alternative rock influence to make this album relevant to rock's post-Nevermind landscape. In other words, Planetfall is greatly influenced by baby-boomer bands but is far from oblivious to post-boomer bands of the '90s and 2000s — and this disc achieves not only an appealing balance of influences from different eras, but also an appealing balance of musicality and intensity. Planetfall rocks aggressively, but never in a way that is punishing or terribly harsh. In fact, melody is never a mere afterthought for Litmus; it is an integral part of what the British space rockers do on this excellent CD. (Alex Henderson, All Music Guide)

Track Listing:

01. Destroy the Mothership
02. Tempest
03. Lost Stations
04. Under the Sign
05. Planetfall
06. Psychic Projection
07. Singularity
08. Helios
09. Expanding Universe (Twinstar Pt. 2)
10. The Machine Age
11. Far Beyond
12. Planetfall / S.E.T.I.


Official Website

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share your comments...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...