Welcome To Heavy Planet!

If you are looking for new Stoner Rock, Doom, Heavy Psych or Sludge Metal bands, then you have come to the right place. Heavy Planet has been providing free promotion to independent and unsigned bands since 2008. Find your next favorite band at Heavy Planet. Thanks for stopping by!

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Album Of The Day-Milligram-"This Is Class War" (2003)

The Album Of The Day is "This Is Class War" by Milligram.


From the album title, one might expect some political punk rabble-rousing in the manner of Jello Biafra's Alternative Tentacles label. Instead, Milligram's debut album (originally titled "Death to America," until a skittish post-9/11 label changed it to something less incendiary) pitches itself somewhere between the insular stoner rock of Queens of the Stone Age, Kyuss, or even the much poppier Built to Spill and the kind of advanced noise terrorism perfected by Japanese artists of the Merzbow/Boredoms axis. Aside from the 12-minute "Death to America" and the even more intense sludge rock grind "My Own Private Altamont," which between themselves account for a full one-third of the album's playing time, the tracks are admirably concise; indeed, some of the shorter tracks sound more like formal experiments, like the 57-second, Foetus-like blurt "+2 Charisma." Others are simply isolated drum or guitar tracks from other, longer songs, added for no particular reason. Fans of the Butthole Surfers and Steve Albini's more outré sonic experiments will find much to admire here. (Stewart Mason, All Music Guide)

Read More Reviews...

Track Listing:

01. Let's Kill
02. Jeff's Flag
03. Let's Pretend We Don't Know Each Other
04. +2 Charisma
05. Thousands And Thousands And Thousands And Thousands
06. Get Fucked Again
07. I Know, I'm Sorry
08. Summer Of Lies
09. Nice Problem
10. Winner Versus Loser
11. Saturation Emission
12. She's A Prostitute
13. The Resentinel
14. This Is Class War

Bonus Tracks:

15. Baikal Depths
16. Baikal Shallows
17. A Mess On Strom Thurmond’s Dress
18. Let’s Kill (Drums/Vocals Only)
19. Constant Sucking Sensation
20. Emblematic Sac
21. Sadegh Hedayat
22. I Know, I’m Sorry (Drums Only)
23. A Thousand Cuts
24. Urdu Is An Amalgam
25. Death To America
26. My Own Private Altamont




No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share your comments...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...