Welcome To Heavy Planet!

If you are looking for new Stoner Rock, Doom, Heavy Psych or Sludge Metal bands, then you have come to the right place. Heavy Planet has been providing free promotion to independent and unsigned bands since 2008. Find your next favorite band at Heavy Planet. Thanks for stopping by!

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Dead Man to Tour the U.S.

Fast-rising Swedish psych-rock band Dead Man has announced 2009 U.S. tour dates in support of its critically acclaimed new album, Euphoria. The quartet, quickly becoming known for its colorful songwriting and dynamic live performances will make its U.S. live debut on February 5 at the Union Pool in Brooklyn, NY.

Dead Man Tour Dates - UPDATED JANUARY 31, 2009

FEB 05 2009 - Brooklyn, NY - Union Pool.
FEB 06 2009 - Philadelphia PA - Johnny Brenda`s.
FEB 07 2009 - Baltimore, MD - Talking Head Club.
FEB 08 2009 - Richmond, VA - Nara Sushi.
FEB 09 2009 - Chapel Hill - Nightlight.
FEB 10 2009 - Atlanta, GA - The Earl.
FEB 11 2009 - Chatanooga, TN - JJ Bohemias.
FEB 12 2009 - Louisville, KY - Skull Alley.
FEB 13 2009 - Chicago, IL - Bottom Lounge.
FEB 14 2009 - Three Rivers, MI - Riveria Theatre.
FEB 15 2009 - Columbus, OH - Bourbon Street Cafe.
FEB 17 2009 - Rochester, NY - Bug Jar.
FEB 19 2009 - Boston, MA - The Middle East Club (Upstairs).
FEB 20 2009 - Bethlehem, PA - Funhouse.
FEB 21 2009 - New York, NY - The Cake Shop.

Dead Man, whose members possess a wealth of musical experience derived from time spent in various Swedish acts (including the hard rock band Norrsken, which also featured in its ranks current Witchcraft front man Magnus Pelander and Graveyard members Joakim Nilsson and Rikard Edlund), play magnetic, spirited rock with melancholic undertones and “a slight touch of darkness” (calling for comparisons to Jefferson Airplane, Blue Cheer, Dungen, and Dead Meadow). Each member of the quartet is a multi-instrumentalist, which allows the band to build unique, lush atmospheres replete with both acoustic tinge and electric crunch.

Recorded at the famous Svenska Grammofon Studion (The Hives) and released via MeteorCity, Euphoria is an album that bridges both the soulful and the psychedelic as dynamic yet incisive songwriting effortlessly fuses with shivering vocals and an expansive, emotive tenor. The record is thick with analog warmth and a laid back, confident overall feel, connecting the dots where the adventurous folk-rock of the late 60’s overlapped with metal’s prehistoric commingling with blues-rock and prog in the early 70’s.

The track listing for Euphoria is as follows:

1.) Today
2.) High or Low
3.) Footsteps
4.) I Must Be Blind
5.) From A Window
6.) Light Vast Corridors
7.) The Wheel
8.) Rest in Peace
9.) A Pinch of Salt
10.) Euphoria
11.) July

Joining the band on the major market U.S. tour will be blues rock act Radio Moscow. The hallucinatory Dead Man track “Rest in Peace” has been posted online and can be heard now at this location.

Dead Man features Kristoffer Sjödahl (electric, acoustic and slide guitar, mandolin, percussion and vocals), Marcus Allard (drums, percussion and vocals), Joakim Dimberg (bass, synthesizer, organ, guitar and vocals) and Johan Rydholm (acoustic guitar, percussion and vocals).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share your comments...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...